Google+ Followers

Sunday, February 18, 2018

review: A Summer Romance (devereaux manor mystery #1) by Tracey Smith


A Summer Romance (The Devereaux Manor Mystery #1)


5 swoon worthy stars


Well, I have to say after over a year off, I am BACK!!! It is nice to start reading again. Its going to be slow and steady until my schedule is figured out!

This was a great book to get my feet wet. This was a great romance novel mixed with a tad bit of mystery.

Maggie lived a life of privilege.  in the Hampton where her family ruled her life.All she wanted to do was go to medical school, but her mother never approved because that was not part of the plan. So, Maggie did what any kid would do, She up and went to Harvard Medical school.  After trying to be the best during all her medical years until she mentally couldn't handle it any more. She applied to house sit across country and it was going to change her life.

She was adjusting to the small town where everyone knows everybody and their business. that was until she started to fall for the groundskeeper. They both never met the old women who hired them to work at the Manson. Rumor had it that she was dead and a ghost brought them together. Maggie would keep finding clues until it was too much.

Now on top of her new love affair news about her new lover will have her questioning if going down there was the right choice. was it worth giving up the family fortune?

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Book Blitz: More than Risk by Kennedy Mitchell

More Than a Risk

by Kennedy L. Mitchell Publication Date: August 17, 2017 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romantic Suspense
Purchase: Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Google Play | Kobo
Is a life worth living if you don’t risk it all for the one you love? Shot and left for dead, Dr. Kate Wheeler doesn’t know what to expect when she wakes in a hospital room, especially she sees him. It would take a lot to win her back after abandoning her when she needed him most, which he is prepared to do, but Kate has never been one to give in easily. A surprise visit from a friend pulls Kate into a deadly game of cat and mouse with a local business man, full of dark secrets. It’s up to Kate to bring this man down knowing her father, the Dallas DA, won’t prosecute without evidence; evidence she is willing to do anything to get. With the love of her life shadowing her every move, will Kate risk losing him to save the lives of others? When Kate’s charade takes a dangerous turn will Weston be enough to bring her back from the edge, or is it too late for it to matter? Hearts and lives are at risk and Kate and Weston’s fiery relationship returns in this second book of the More Than a Threat series.

More Than a Threat

by Kennedy L. Mitchell Publication Date: March 10, 2017 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romantic Suspense
Purchase: Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Google Play | Kobo
In the face of danger, the thin line between love and hate is blurred and rules are broken. But are these two prepared to face the consequences? Dr. Kate Wheeler is an independent, feisty emergency medicine doctor with a perfect life, or at least that’s what everyone sees from the outside. Her world is turned upside down when she is forced to allow twenty-four-seven protection, disrupting her independent lifestyle leaving Kate to adjust, or not. She finds herself in uncharted territory as she balances a new love interest at work, never being alone and dodging multiple attempts on her life. If it weren’t for her two best friends by her side the stress would be too much, even for her to handle. Her newly assigned security detail, Casey Weston, is harsh, dismissive, and overbearing. His sexy, strong body and bad boy tattoos are just the exterior to this thoughtful man who has secrets of his own. As he works to keep Kate at arm’s length he finds himself equally frustrated and fascinated by this woman who pushes his boundaries. Weston’s rules are intense and focused solely on keeping her alive. But as time goes on will his better judgement falter? Tempers and emotions flare when these two headstrong individuals go head to head, both used to having their own way and unwilling…or too afraid…to give an inch. With Kate’s life in the crosshairs and Weston determined to protect her, will their future be happily ever after or torn apart by the same threat that brought them together?

About Kennedy L. Mitchell

I live in Dallas but I am not a Texan by birth, I am a transplant from Tennessee and married a true Texan so I had to stay. We live in a older home in Dallas proper with our son and goldendoodle (who is roughly the size of a pony). Writing isn’t my day job, however it is my joy and favorite hobby. I enjoy sending my friends new chapters nightly and hearing their reactions the next day. That is why I write, being published is just a bonus really. My real job is the same every day, but at night I get to be someone else and write about all these fun adventures and sexcapades:) When I’m writing you can find me on the couch, earbuds in and a full glass of wine beside me. Music inspires my stores, at the end of each book I list the playlist that helped me through writing the novel. When I am not working or writing, I am reading. I go through about 3 books a week and I am 100% sure that I’m that annoying person at book-club that gets on to people when they are not keeping up with the monthly readings or suggest the movie is as good as a book (Sometimes I wish I could vote those people out of book-club like they do on Survivor. “The tribe has spoken”). My favorite authors that inspire my writing are: Colleen Hoover, Sarah J. Maas, Sandra Brown, and Rainbow Rowell.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

REVIEW: Castro Oil to induce labor and update

Well my friends, I know I have been slacking on my book/product reviews, but the reason is that I am pregnant AGAIN.....


I had a very hard time with this pregnancy. First of all the doctor gave me two different due dates. Yes two. They are over 3 weeks apart and if you are a mom  you know how frustrating it is to try to get some answers now that you are in your 3rd trimester. According to my husband and my records and the first doctor our due date is June 24. (as you can tell is any day now :) ) Making me 39 weeks and 4 days pregnant.  I did not get any office visit or ultra sound till I was over 5 1/2 month pregnant. Why you ask?! Let me rant about that one for a minute,

We have 4 hospitals in our area. 2 of which are owned by the same company and the other two are totally different. As you should know where you live certain hospitals owns a monopoly and has tons of doctors offices in each town. I never had any complaints with my doctors office, but now I do.  Geisinger hospital is so over book with suppose pregnant woman when I called back in October to get an appointment they said I could be seen till January 27! Then when I was seen I was never given an ultra sound so my first ultra sound was back in Feburary. So, I was 5 months pregnant. The only good thing out of it was I got to find out what I was having.

Well our OBGYN in Geisinger makes you see a different doctor every week. So, the doctor that reviewed my ultra sound stated my due date was wrong and my new due date was July 14. Almost a whole month later. I was like.. um no, I know when I have sex with my husband..lol well those asshats still are gun hoe about this July due date so they think I am only 37 weeks.. so here is my review,,

I have been having 10 minute apart contractions for over 2 weeks. If you go by my June due date I could easily be induced any time, but NO they think I am only 37 weeks and it is not safe.. well my friends if they wait till that date my baby will be over 44 weeks. Anyone who has kids knows that it is UNSAFE to go that long.  I am stuck at a 3cm and all they told me to do was DRINK WATER...hahaha can you believe that! So, I went to the computer and decided to try all the old wives tales to get me admitted and have this baby.. EPIC FAIL!!!!

I tried everything. So far the only thing that worked was sex. It made me dilate just a little bit more than what I was but still sent home.  So, Yesterday I broke down and tried Castro Oil.  I was ready to party with the toilet.  I took One Tablespoon and mixed it was applesauce. While I was waiting for the poop party to begin I decided to drink lots of water so I would stay safe while this was happening... 3 hours later NOTHING HAPPENED.... So I took another Tablespoon and mixed it with the soup I was eating for lunch. Another 3 hours later NOTHING HAPPENED..... No painful contractions, no Poop party, NOTHING... EPIC FAIL...

So my friends if you know any tricks to get yourself in labor please comment below.....

Monday, June 12, 2017

Cover reveal: More than a risk by Kennedy Mitchell

More Than a Risk

by Kennedy L. Mitchell Publication Date: August 17, 2017 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romantic Suspense
Is a life worth living if you don’t risk it all for the one you love? Shot and left for dead, Dr. Kate Wheeler doesn’t know what to expect when she wakes in a hospital room, especially she sees him. It would take a lot to win her back after abandoning her when she needed him most, which he is prepared to do, but Kate has never been one to give in easily. A surprise visit from a friend pulls Kate into a deadly game of cat and mouse with a local business man, full of dark secrets. It’s up to Kate to bring this man down knowing her father, the Dallas DA, won’t prosecute without evidence; evidence she is willing to do anything to get. With the love of her life shadowing her every move, will Kate risk losing him to save the lives of others? When Kate’s charade takes a dangerous turn will Weston be enough to bring her back from the edge, or is it too late for it to matter? Hearts and lives are at risk and Kate and Weston’s fiery relationship returns in this second book of the More Than a Threat series.

More Than a Threat

by Kennedy L. Mitchell Publication Date: March 10, 2017 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romantic Suspense
In the face of danger, the thin line between love and hate is blurred and rules are broken. But are these two prepared to face the consequences? Dr. Kate Wheeler is an independent, feisty emergency medicine doctor with a perfect life, or at least that’s what everyone sees from the outside. Her world is turned upside down when she is forced to allow twenty-four-seven protection, disrupting her independent lifestyle leaving Kate to adjust, or not. She finds herself in uncharted territory as she balances a new love interest at work, never being alone and dodging multiple attempts on her life. If it weren’t for her two best friends by her side the stress would be too much, even for her to handle. Her newly assigned security detail, Casey Weston, is harsh, dismissive, and overbearing. His sexy, strong body and bad boy tattoos are just the exterior to this thoughtful man who has secrets of his own. As he works to keep Kate at arm’s length he finds himself equally frustrated and fascinated by this woman who pushes his boundaries. Weston’s rules are intense and focused solely on keeping her alive. But as time goes on will his better judgement falter? Tempers and emotions flare when these two headstrong individuals go head to head, both used to having their own way and unwilling...or too afraid...to give an inch. With Kate’s life in the crosshairs and Weston determined to protect her, will their future be happily ever after or torn apart by the same threat that brought them together?

About Kennedy L. Mitchell

I live in Dallas but I am not a Texan by birth, I am a transplant from Tennessee and married a true Texan so I had to stay. We live in a older home in Dallas proper with our son and goldendoodle (who is roughly the size of a pony). Writing isn’t my day job, however it is my joy and favorite hobby. I enjoy sending my friends new chapters nightly and hearing their reactions the next day. That is why I write, being published is just a bonus really. My real job is the same every day, but at night I get to be someone else and write about all these fun adventures and sexcapades:) When I’m writing you can find me on the couch, earbuds in and a full glass of wine beside me. Music inspires my stores, at the end of each book I list the playlist that helped me through writing the novel. When I am not working or writing, I am reading. I go through about 3 books a week and I am 100% sure that I’m that annoying person at book-club that gets on to people when they are not keeping up with the monthly readings or suggest the movie is as good as a book (Sometimes I wish I could vote those people out of book-club like they do on Survivor. “The tribe has spoken”). My favorite authors that inspire my writing are: Colleen Hoover, Sarah J. Maas, Sandra Brown, and Rainbow Rowell.

Saturday, May 6, 2017

review: But I wanted a little sister by Pauline Oud

But I Wanted a Little Sister by Pauline Oud


5 this is one of the best books stars...


I got this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review...

This by far is one of my favorite children's books. I think any child would love to hear or read this book if they have any siblings.

This story is about a girl who was upset that her mother brought home a brother instead of a sister. She started to put her brother's hair in pig tails and dressing him in her doll's clothing. He was able to make beaded necklaces and also draw pictures with her.

The only problem was when her brother got bigger she wasn't able to dress him up and her mother cut his hair. There was only one solution was to return her brother to the store to get a little sister. This little girl learned a big lesson when everyone who was going to go give her their sibling she found out they had flaws. All of the other little sisters did not do the things that her brother loves to do. So she realized that her brother was prefect just the way he is...

Friday, May 5, 2017

review: Jilly's Terrible Temper Tantrums: And How She Outgrew Them by Martha Pieper

Jilly's Terrible Temper Tantrums: And How She Outgrew Them



2 we didn't fit stars....


I got this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review..

This children's book was. Not for me. My two year old daughter was not interested in the pictures or the plot of the story. This story would be more for adults, but then I wouldn't understand the stucture of the story.

This story is about Lilly who is a kangaroo and there are 4 different stories where she throws a tantrum when she doesn't get her way. What I do not like about this story is how the parents do anything to make this girl happy. Just doesn't show true values about children and how to deal with tantrums.
 (less)

Thursday, January 19, 2017

review: Between the stars and sky by David James


Between the Stars and Sky by David     James


3 I was not impressed stars....


Well, I got this book from the library with high hopes. I was not a fan, but decided to finish the book because I know all books can start very slow.

They story is a love story, but not all love stories are happy. This is one of them. There is a lot of poetry in this book. Also, the amount of heartbreak in this story was unreal..

This story is about a boy named jackson. He is a lost soul. He lost his mother and cannot get over the grief. He is not talking to his father because they both cannot come to terms that his mother is gone. ( this mind you took me forever to figure out what exactly did he lose).

Jackson ends up moving back to his home town to start over. His home town is based on the firelight festival. This major event is based off the founder of the town and his love story. That story is really cute and a great foundation for the yearly party that they hold. After that party they have a routine that people jump off the cliff for love. the whole idea of not making it out alive is what brings people to want to do it.

Jackson will want to face his fears and make that jump. A long lost girl from his past will come back to his life and he is crushed when she does not remember him. will he get the girl? Can this girl break him from his dark place? I will have to remind you this book you can tell what is going to happen, but you also hope what you are thinking doesn't happen...